At yesterday’s 7th Annual EETimes Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Awards ceremony, Intel Fellow and director of the Intel Photonics Technology Lab, Dr. Mario Paniccia, was named Innovator of the Year. Mario brought home this award for his work in leading innovation in silicon photonics and developing 50Gbps Silicon Photonic Link – the world’s first silicon integrated photonic chip with hybrid lasers operating at 50Gbps. Over the last decade Dr. Paniccia has been a leader, innovator, and visionary driving Silicon Photonics research.  The EETimes ACE Awards celebrates the creators of technology who demonstrate leadership and innovation in the global industry and shape the world we live in. Additional information on Mario, his research and its impact can be found here

Intel® Wireless Display 2.0 (WiDi 2.0) has just been updated to deliver wireless streaming playback of protected content, including Intel Insider, DVD, and Blu-Ray movies. If you have a system based on 2nd Generation Intel® Core® processor, just update Wireless Display, and your HD Graphics drivers, and enjoy!

With popular gaming apps including Angry Birds, Pac-Man and Julius! FunKit, the Intel AppUpSM center is your source for gaming entertainment. From simple puzzles like Alchemy Classic to retro games like Missile Command, AppUp has a game for every player. Browse the Intel AppUp center’s gaming apps, and if you register by May 21st, you will receive Flight Control HD for free.

Schools Honored for Science and Math Programs



  • 18 U.S. Schools Named SODA Finalists.
  • Awards for Math and Science Excellence include cash, goods and services.
  • Six to be named Intel Schools of Distinction, one a "Star Innovator," in September.



SANTA CLARA, Calif., May 3, 2011 – Intel Corporation today named 18 U.S. schools as finalists in the 2011 Intel Schools of Distinction Awards (SODA).


The winning schools, to be honored in September at an awards reception in Washington, D.C., serve as outstanding examples of leaders in preparing tomorrow's innovators.


Each of the 18 schools will receive a $5,000 award from the Intel Foundation and a trip to Washington, D.C. in September, when six schools will be named Intel Schools of Distinction. These six schools will each win an additional $5,000 from the Intel Foundation and a package of goods and services valued at approximately $100,000. The package will include hardware, software and teacher professional development products, all contributed by award sponsors which share Intel's commitment to improving and supporting math and science education in the United States.


One of the six schools will also be selected as "Star Innovator" and will receive $25,000 from the Intel Foundation, and additional prizes and services from sponsors.


Intel sponsors the Schools of Distinction Awards to honor schools for implementing innovative math and science programs and serving as models for other schools.


"It is essential that U.S. schools invest in quality math and science education," said Shelly Esque, vice president of Intel's Corporate Affairs Group and president of the Intel Foundation. "Because such investment is critical to maintain U.S. competitiveness in a global economy, the schools recognized as Intel Schools of Distinction are contributing in a significant way to prepare students for the future."


The Schools of Distinction honors schools in science which provide a rich science curriculum incorporating hands-on investigative experiences which prepare students for 21st century jobs. Programs encourage student achievement in sciences and engineering, while simultaneously helping students become knowledgeable consumers of news and data in order to be active and informed citizens.


The Schools of Distinction honors schools in mathematics which offer their students a rigorous, challenging and engaging program which teaches mathematics skills and how to apply them to solve real-life problems, approach projects as a member of a team and communicate succinctly on the subject.


The 18 finalist schools are:




Elementary:Crellin Elementary, Oakland, Md.
Hollin Meadows Elementary, Alexandria, Va.

TOSA School of Health Science & Technology, Wauwatosa, Wis.

Middle:Conyers Middle School, Conyers, Ga.
Millikan (Robert A.) Middle, Sherman Oaks, Calif.

Valley Christian Junior High, San Jose, Calif.

High:Andover High, Andover, Mass.
Byron Senior High, Byron, Minn.

Leadership Public Schools, Hayward, Calif.





Elementary:Farmington View Elementary, Hillsboro, Ore.
Walton Elementary, Walton, Kan.

Zachary Elementary, Zachary, La.

Middle:New Bridge Middle, Jacksonville, N.C.
Preston Middle School, Fort Collins, Colo.

Sandy Run Middle School, Dresher, Pa.

High:Brooklyn Technical High, Brooklyn, N.Y.
California Academy of Mathematics & Science, Carson, Calif.

Lynbrook High, San Jose, Calif.



For more information on the Intel Schools of Distinctions Awards visit:


Intel's sponsorship of the Schools of Distinction Awards is part of the Intel® Education Initiative, a sustained public-private partnership with governments in more than 50 countries. Through this $100 million a year initiative, Intel delivers programs which improve the effective use of technology to enhance 21st century skills and encourages excellence in mathematics, science and engineering. For more information, visit:


About Intel
Intel (NASDAQ: INTC) is a world leader in computing innovation. The company designs and builds the essential technologies that serve as the foundation for the world’s computing devices. Additional information about Intel is available at and


Intel is a trademark of Intel Corporation in the United States and other countries.


* Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.

Filter News Archive

By author:
By date:
By tag: