Chip Shot: 18 Universities Launch Advanced Software Programs

The National Science Foundation (NSF)/Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (TCPP) Curriculum Initiative on Parallel and Distributed Computing recently announced 18 universities that are being inducted into the Fall 2011 Early Adopter program. Supported by the Intel Academic Community and NSF, this program enables select university professors around the world to revamp undergraduate Computer Science and Engineering curricula to better prepare software development students to take advantage of tomorrow’s multi- and many-core technology. Students will future-proof their skills by learning how to write parallel software for multi-core processors. Get a list of the Fall 2011 Early Adopters and additional program information.